Spanish novelist extraordinaire Antonio Munoz Molina has been awarded the Jerusalem Biennial Prize for 2013. The author of The Polish Horseman and Sepharad joins the very impressive roster of former winners:
Ian McEwan, Haruki Murakami, Leszek Kołakowski, António Lobo Antunes, Arthur Miller, Susan Sontag, Don DeLillo, Mario Vargas Llosa, Zbigniew Herbert, Ernesto Sabato, J. M. Coetzee, Milan Kundera, V. S. Naipaul, Graham Greene, Octavio Paz, Simone de Beauvoir, Eugène Ionesco, Jorge Luis Borges, Ignazio Silone, Max Frisch and Bertrand Russell.

The jury granted Munoz Molina the prize because he is 'one of the world's greatest literary figures of the 20th. and 21th. Centuries.'