Disaster Books

I like non-fiction disaster / calamity books. Although they do share a common pattern, they always seem to absorb me completely. I tend to approach and read everything as a species of novel, and of course with disaster books, that is particularly easy.

For example, Denise Gess’s and William Luz’s Firestorm at Peshtigo. The Peshtigo fire in Northeast Wisconsin occurred simultaneously with the Great Chicago Fire and stemmed from the same weather conditions, but was far more deadly.

When I was a commercial real estate broker in Northeast Wisconsin, Peshtigo was part of my territory, so I know this turf well.

4DE2C847-86E7-41ED-B555-F22B1E880423.jpeg

Here are other disaster books that I have read fairly recently. I am aware that with some of these posts, I am pushing the boundaries of what would be considered “literature” here at the WLF, so feel free to ignore. But I am an expansionist, and for me, books are books; any book that sounds interesting might make a claim on my time. I suppose my reading time splits something like this: 35% literary fiction, 15% genre fiction, 10% poetry and drama, 40% non-fiction.

Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Black Potatoes: The Story of the Great Irish Famine, 1845-1850
David G. Brown, White Hurricane: A Great Lakes November Gale and America’s Deadliest Maritime Disaster
Michael Capuzzo, Close to Shore: The Terrifying Shark Attacks of 1916
Randall Gabrielan, Explosion at Morgan: The World War I Middlesex Munitions Disaster
Sebastian Junger, The Perfect Storm (bestseller that deserved its success)
Norman Maclean, Young Fire and Fire (a non-fiction masterpiece)
Stewart O’Nan, The Circus Fire (quite an incredible book, about the Hartford circus fire of 1944)
Alwyn Scarth, La Catastrophe: The Eruption of Mount Pelée, the Worst Volcanic Disaster of the 20th Century
Michael Schumacher, Mighty Fitz: The Sinking of the Edmund Fitzgerald
Simon Winchester, Krakatoa: The Day the World Exploded