Taking on literary translation?

First, let me assure that I'm not at this forum merely to ask this question! I came across this section while checking the place out prior to registering and simply thought I would ask.

I am already a translator by trade, specifically working with German as my secondary (source) language. I have not done literary translation but have always been interested. I find myself wondering about the process and the legality of it, what I would have to do in order to publish a translation if I go ahead and make one, or how I might approach a publisher about such a collaboration. I only know about the more humdrum side of the industry, translating various documents for clients and outsourcers.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Liam

Administrator
If the work you're intending to translate is already out of copyright, I think you can go ahead and work on it, and then try to place it with a publisher. If, however, the author is still alive (or, in any case, the text is not yet out of copyright), you need to contact the publisher ahead of time. When authors sell foreign rights they usually place their work with a specific publishing house overseas. And the publishers may already have granted the translation right to one of their own translators. So you don't want to waste your time and effort and translate a modern novel only to realize that nobody is going to publish it because of copyright issues.

I had the same question regarding some Irish and Welsh texts I was translating; I was told that as long as they are pre-1935 (or thereabout) I can basically do it, but more contemporary texts require a bit of research to see where (or if) the author has placed his/her foreign rights. Then you contact the publisher and offer your services. Even if a previous translation exists, they might be convinced to do a fresh one. It's not like there can be a "definitive" translation; translations become obsolete and require constant updating.