Your favourite painting

Loki

Reader
I searched a thread similar to this and as I haven't found one, so I've opened it myself.

I think it would be interesting posting our favourite paintings, the ones we like most. I'm a little interested in paintings, although I'm not an expert and I'm not to able to draw a thing!
I'll start by posting two of my favourite paintings.

This is Millet's Angelus:
the-angelus-by-millet-ca-1857.jpg

And this Waterhouse's The Lady of Shalott (I had to check the name of the author; see?, I'm not an expert!):
waterhouse_the_lady_of_shalott02.jpg

What about yours?

lionel

Reader
I seem to have had a similar conversation somewhere before about Pierre Michon, and this is not my favourite painting of all time, but it's one of them: Gustave Courbet's L'Origine du monde:

You bugger! What's this, women's revenge, or has Liam had, er, a hand in this?

(Image deleted by me, Lionel or Tony, whichever you prefer, before the whole post got deleted. If curious, ask beelzebubbles to send you a copy as she put it there, although it's not a painting. Very naughty.)

Last edited:

Liam

Administrator
My favorite painter is Peter Bruegel, and I have a Hunters in the Snow print in my room.

Brueghel_the_elder_-_Hunters_in_the_snow.jpg

It is impossible not to love and admire the Italians; however, I prefer the late Middle Ages to Renaissance (meaning: Giotto over Leonardo, sorry). One Venetian painter whose endless Madonna-and-Child paintings I came to admire when I was younger was Carlo Crivelli. He seemed to take the Blakean concept of "Exuberance is Beauty" to ridiculous extremes. Still, the results are quite eye-catching:

crivelli.jpg

crivelliano.jpg

Other painters I love include Andrew Wyeth, Bosch, van Gogh, Rembrandt and the contemporary Polish absurdist Michael Sowa.

Liam

Administrator
...this is not my favourite painting of all time, but it's one of them: Gustave Courbet's L'Origine du monde...